Doctor Who battles Merlin in UK's 2012 National Television Awards

The final shortlist nominees for the 2012 National Television Awards have been announced.

Doctor Who is, once again, up for Best Drama. The show faces competition from Merlin, Downton Abbey and last year’s winner, Waterloo Road, which notoriously put an end to Doctor Who’s winning streak in the category.

Matt Smith and John Barrowman are up for Best Male Drama Performance, while Karen Gillan and Eve Myles are nominated for Best Female Drama Performance.

The Doctor Who nominated categories in full:


Best Drama

  • Doctor Who
  • Downton Abbey
  • Merlin
  • Waterloo Road

Best Male Drama Performance

  • Matt Smith (Doctor Who)
  • John Barrowman (Torchwood: Miracle Day)
  • Martin Clunes (Doc Martin)
  • David Threlfall (Shameless)

Best Female Drama Performance

  • Karen Gillan (Doctor Who)
  • Eve Myles (Torchwood: Miracle Day)
  • Jaye Jacobs (Waterloo Road)
  • Suranne Jones (Scott & Bailey)

You can vote for this year’s nominees online here. You know what to do.

Voting closes midday Wednesday 25th January. The awards ceremony will be broadcast the same day live on ITV1 beginning 7.30pm.

RSS Twitter YouTube Facebook BBC America


IF YOU ARE NEW TO WHO, Check out these posts.

Check out our guide.